Yesterday’s entry: A comment and a correction

May 30, 2008 at 4:43 am

The Comment

I’ve got a lot of feedback on yesterday’s blog entry.  The two most mutual questions are:

  • Eric, why did you guess that working at your Scrabble project was incorrect?  It doesn’t appear all that defective.
  • And since you imagined it was so awing, can we take over that you would move ballistic if someone in your company was working on a pet project at the office?

I sort of projected that if I published an article about a software manager that I in truth look up to, I didn’t need to direct the question of how I would react in a like situation.  It should be fairly elementary to touch base the dots.

But folks are having trouble with the fact that I obliged such a stern attitude about my ain transgression.  They take over that I would be likewise draconian with others.  A mediocre assumption I opine, but an wrong one.

When it relates ethics, most people process themselves slackly and other purely.  Rather, stress being exacting with yourself and benignant toward others.  You’ll get along a lot better with the world.

Do I in truth think that working at a fun personal project at work is such a flagitious crime?  For certain not.  But for sure you can correspond that goofing off and straining to overlay it up isn’t on the nose the way to make headway the employee of the month award?

The truth is that I simply don”t believe in making excuses.  I’m not going to defend myself unless I have solid possession of the moral high ground.

Free Live Chat: Next generation of Live Chat. On-Demand. Easy-to-Use.

My kids read this blog.  I’m trying to teach them to take responsibility for all their choices, good and bad, big and small.  How can I do that if I’m not willing to set the example?

If I found somebody in my company working on a pet project at work, I imagine I would handle it pretty much like Tim did:  I would be more disappointed in the company than in the individual.  If people are working on hobby code, then they’re bored.  In my opinion, the blame for a bored employee splits about 80/20 toward management.

The Correction

Tim’s current car is a Lamborghini, not a Ferrari.

Entry filed under: Software Development. Tags: , , .

Raised Mix08 Videos Posted How Advertisers Pip Themselves In Their Corporate Feet


Calendar

May 2008
M T W T F S S
    Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts


